Friday, October 2, 2009


The members of the Dublin Civitan Club held the 54th annual installation dinner at the Dublin Country Club on the evening of October 1, 2009.  Outgoing chaplain Melton Tyson led the opening prayer.  After a fine dinner, outgoing president Barnard King highlighted the activities during his year as president of the club.  He recalled a successful fair last October and the proceeds from candy and fruit cake sales which help the club in its mission to provide funds and services to the disabled and needy in Laurens County.  The Christmas Banquet raised more than $1200 to give needy families gifts at Christmas time.  President King also saluted the members of the club for their work in the St. Patrick's Parade and the construction of wheel chair ramps for disabled persons in the county.  During the year, the club contributed five $500.00 scholarships to worthy high school students and helped local athletes attend the Special Olympic games in Atlanta.

Former Georgia Civitan District president George Chandler, presented Roy Hall with the International Civitan Club's Distinguish President's Award for 2007-2008.  Hall had been previously recognized by the Georgia District as the Outstanding President for the previous year.  Chandler cited the Dublin club along with the Cook County Club as being one of the best clubs in the state.

Former Civitan Governor George Chandler presenting past president Roy Hall, III with
the Georgia Civitan President of the Year Award.

John Simpson was cited for his 35 years of membership in the club.  Johnny Johnson completed 30 years of service, while Bert Raliffe and Ralph Jackson finished 10 and 5 years in the Dublin Civitan Club.

The leading perfect attendance awards are Clinton Lord (24), Bernard King (21), Melton Tyson (20), Wick Cochran (17), John Simpson and Kenny Martin (15), James Hudson (8), Robert Drew and Bob Livingston (6), and Vernon DeLoach (5.)

Bob Livingston presented the Club Honor Key to Bruce Birch for his embracing the Civitan creed and his outstanding volunteer work during the past year.

Bruce Birch and Bob Livingston

Bernard King introduced Georgia District Governor, Ray Marden, who challenged club members "to rock" in their service of the community.

Outgoing president thanked the members of the club for their help in the success of the club and then presented the president's gavel to Kenny Martin, the club's new president and the Governor Elect of the Georgia District.

Kenny Martin and Bernard King.

Kenny Martin (Georgia District Governor Elect and new Dublin Civitan Club president), Ray Marden (Georgia District Governor), Bernard King (outgoing club president), George Chandler (former Georgia District governor), and Roy Hall (former Dublin Civitan club president.)

2009-2010 Club Officers: Kenny Martin (President), Doug Ward (Director), Bernard King (Past President), Robert Drew (Sergeant at Arms), Bob Livingston (Director), Vernon DeLoach (Director), Johnny Parham (Chaplain), Bruce Birch (President elect), John Simpson (Secretary/Treasurer).

Past Georgia Governor George Chandler presents former club president Roy Hall with the International Club's Distinguished President's Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment